About the Ravenna School District

Superintendent Dennis Honkala dennis.honkala@ravennaschools.us
Executive Secretary Grace Smith grace.smith@ravennaschools.us

Director of Teaching
& Learning K-5

Beatrice Flarida beatrice.flarida@ravennaschools.us
Executive Secretary Chris Retherford chris.retherford@ravennaschools.us
Director of Teaching
& Learning 6-12
Susan Huth susan.huth@ravennaschools.us
Executive Secretary Sharon Leichliter sharon.leichliter@ravennaschools.us
Treasurer Phillip Butto, IV. phillip.butto@ravennaschools.us
Technology Director Stephen York stephen.york@ravennaschools.us
 
School Year Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The Ravenna School District is one of the largest school districts in Portage County with just over 3,000 students in grades pre-K through 12. The district serves students through two preschool programs, five elementary schools, one middle school and one high school which are staffed by almost 192 certified staff members. Maintenance and custodial staff, secretaries, food service employees, transportation personnel and instructional assistants are all part of our support personnel. Ravenna is located in southern Portage County, about one hour southeast of Cleveland, and 30 minutes northeast of Akron. Situated in the county seat, Ravenna is convenient to numerous government and community agencies that serve our families.

Our academic programming follows the Ohio Academic Content Standards. Students with special needs, including those with disabilities and those identified for the gifted and talented program are provided with specialized instruction. All students in the elementary buildings receive instruction in art, music and physical education. Students in the middle school and high school also have access to those classes in addition to other exploratories and electives. The high school offers honors and AP classes as well as post-secondary options. Numerous extracurricular and athletic options are available to help provide students with well-rounded experiences in our schools.

District Enrollment (as of October, 2011)

SCHOOL

GRADES

STUDENTS

Integrated Preschool Program

Pre-K

74

Public Preschool Program

Pre-K

51

West Park Elementary

K

205

Carlin Elementary

1-5

230

Tappan Elementary

1-5

211

West Main Elementary

1-5

277

Willyard Elementary

1-5

326

Brown Middle School

6-8

642

Ravenna High School

9-12

915

 

You can find more about us in the section below. Click on the picture of any facility below to get a map to that destination and to access specific directions from your location. You may access any building or department utilizing the links on the left side of the page at any time during your visit to our web site.

Carlin Elementary School

531 Washington Avenue
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-6622
Fax: (330) 297-4144
Student School Hours: 8:50 a.m. - 3:15 p.m.

West Main Elementary School

639 West Main Street
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-6522
Fax: (330) 297-4149
Student School Hours: 8:40 a.m. - 3:10 p.m.

 

West Park Elementary School

1071 Jones Avenue
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 297-1744
Fax: (330) 297-4167
Student School Hours: 8:50 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

 

Willyard Elementary School

680 Summit Road
Ravenna,Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-6481
Fax: (330) 297-4151
Student School Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 3:10 p.m.

 

Brown Middle School

228 South Scranton Street
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-3849
Fax: (330) 297-4146
Student School Hours: 7:45 a.m. - 2:50 p.m.

 

Ravenna High School

6589 North Chestnut Street
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-3844
Fax: (330) 296-1855
Student School Hours: 7:15 a.m. - 2:15 p.m.

 

Ravenna Child Care and Preschool

3590 State Route 59
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 297-4139
Fax: (330) 297-4165
Hours: 6:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

 

Integrated Preschool Program

3590 State Route 59
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 297-6708
Fax: (330) 297-7605
Student School Hours:
AM Session 9 - 11:30 a.m.
PM Session 12:30 - 3 p.m.

 

Business Operations

315 North Walnut Street
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-7159
Fax: (330) 297-4171
Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

 

Transportation

703 Oakwood Avenue
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-6828
Fax: (330) 297-4152
Office Hours: 6:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Central Registration

3590 State Route 59
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 297-6708
Fax: (330) 297-7605
Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

 

Special Services

3590 State Route 59
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 297-6708
Fax: (330) 297-7605
Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

 

Ravenna Board of Education

507 East Main Street
Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Phone: (330) 296-9679
Fax: (330) 297-4158
Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.